Alaska Marriage License

Alaska Marriage License

If you live in Alaska and want to marry your beloved one here, you need to visit the nearest court and apply for a license. In order to obtain your license, you will need to meet the Alaska’s state requirements and provide the needed documents.

Alaska Marriage License Requirements

You either go to the court or apply for the license online. You may send the application by mail or fax.

It must be sent to the local court house or Vital Records Section. When you have completed the application, you will have to pay a $60 fee. You must have your driver’s license with you on your application day. The other documents you need to provide are the following:

  • Proof of identity
  • Previous marriages document (if you have any)
  • Birth certificate’s copy

Whenever you submit your complete application, you will have to wait about 3 working days to get the permit. The permit is for the wedding ceremony as well as your license.

On your wedding day, you will also need to have two witnesses with you. And you must pay attention to your license that is signed by a notary.

Please note that even if you have a marriage license, you will not be considered married. A justice of the peace or a religious priest will need to sign your license during the ceremony.

On your wedding day, your marriage official will sign your license as well. Your signed document will be sent to the government for confirmation.

Starting your Alaska Marriage License Process

Like the other states of the US (such as California), Alaska also has some requirements that everyone must meet. If you are in Alaska and want to obtain a marriage license here are the steps you need to follow:

  • First, two of the applicants, the future husband and wife, must fill in the application form
  • Then you must have all the required documents with you
  • You must be aware of  Alaska’s marriage laws
  • Confirm your application and wait for the license

You will get your license within three days. Take into account that the license is valid only for about three months. So you and your partner must perform your wedding ceremony before the license’s expiration date.

If you are currently in Alaska but do not have a residency you can still apply for the marriage license.

Age Requirements

In order to be eligible for a marriage license, you must be at least 18 years old. People aged 16-17 can also apply for a marriage license with their parental consent.

  • So, if both, future husband and wife, are 18 or older they can just apply for a marriage license. They must have two witnesses with them.
  • If one of the applicants, or both are under 18, then they must submit a parental consent form.
  • In case the applicant is 17 years old and is currently working in military service, there is no need to show parental consent.

If one of your parents is dead the court will ask you to provide the death certificate. In case your parents are divorced, or one of your parents has custody, then you must present the documents proving it.

Fees for the Alaska Marriage License

Usually, you just need to pay $60 to obtain your license in Alaska.

In case you need to reissue your license, you must pay the additional $15 fee. If you want to get a copy of your license, you are going to pay about $30 for the first time and $25 for the next time.

The heirloom license will cost $65 for the original one and $60 every time you order a copy.

Whenever your license is ready, you will pay an extra $25 for the official wedding ceremony.

In case you change your name

If you want to change your name after marriage, you will need to apply for it separately.

In this case, you must submit a certified copy of the certificate. You may also need to have your Social Security Card with you. All these documents you must take to your local Social Security office.

You will get your marriage certificate with your new name as well as a new social security card.

Wedding Ceremony Day

Your wedding ceremony must take place no later than ninety days after you get your marriage license. A religious, judicial marriage commissioner will generally perform the ceremony.

Alaska is also one of the few states of the U.S that offers your relatives or friends to perform the ceremony, You will only need to pay $25 to juridically approve the ceremony holder.

Covenant and Proxy Marriages in Alaska

Covenant marriages have special requirements in case you want to divorce. But Alaska doesn’t offer covenant marriages.

In fact, the applicants can have another person to be in their place during the wedding. Alaska does not offer proxy marriages.

What must I fill in the application form for a Marriage License?

Generally, the application form requires you to fill in your full and precise name, names of your parents/ legal guardians. You will need to provide your current address and birth details (city, date, etc) as well.

If one of the sides has previously been married, they must bring the documents of the previous marriages.

Complete the application only with the correct information.

Should I take any medical tests?

No. Alaska doesn’t require a medical test or a blood test in order to apply for a marriage license.

Can I marry my cousin in Alaska?

Alaska’s government says that you can marry your cousins as long as they are not first cousins.

That’s because of the law that doesn’t let you marry your family members or half-blood relatives.

Can you marry someone of the same gender as you in Alaska?

Yes. The US has recently adopted a law that enables people of the same gender marry each other. So, in Alaska, you can marry someone of the same gender as you.

You and your partner just need to apply for a license, provide the same documents as the others, and perform your marriage ceremony.

Is my marriage license valid in other states?

No. You can only use your marriage license in Alaska.

Can I check Alaska’s marriage records?

In fact, Alaska’s marriage records are open to the public. That is, you can access even 55 years back records whenever you want. But the latest licenses (about 15 years or more) are only available for those who work legally with the marriage documents.

You may also fill in an application form at Alaska Health Analytics & Vital Records Section and get copies of marriage certificates.

When will Alaska reject obtaining a marriage license?

If you have applied for a marriage license in Alaska, the state can reject you in two cases.

First, the state will refuse to give a marriage license if one of the applicants currently has a wife or husband. The second case that Alaska can refuse to give a marriage license is when the applicants are close relatives or family members.

Alaska can refuse to give the applicant the license if the application is not correct and complete.

Amalik B

Amalik B

Amalik is a junior content writer. She has graduated from YSU as a pedagogy philologist of the French language. During a year of her experience as a content writer, Amalik has written content for several websites and took part in some social media campaigns. Since 2017, she has been a volunteer in PAVU being an interpreter in various events. Nowadays she is also volunteering in Children of Regions, and in the frames of some projects teaches English and French.