Alaska Auction License

Alaska Auction License

There are certain municipalities and cities that offer auction permits in Alaska. Each of them has specific requirements. Moreover, it is important to note that there is no jurisdiction over online trades.

Please keep reading to have general information about the requirements for the Alaska auction license.

General Requirements

Although the state does not require a license, you should meet these basic conditions to practice any activity in that area:

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Have not been convicted of a felony for the past five years
  • Have passed oral and written examinations. The first one tests your vocal abilities to auction. The second one will check your general knowledge of the laws of this state related to trade and commerce, bulk sales, transactions, etc.
  • Have graduated from a board-approved trade school that requires successfully completing at least 80 hours of training

The areas of study may be the following:

  • Audience communications
  • Conducting trades
  • Law
  • Preparations
  • Appraisals
  • Procurement of merchandise
  • Advertising

Motor Vehicle Dealer License Requirements

If you wish to become a vehicle dealer, you must submit an application. The latter must include the following:

  • The legal name of the company
  • Complete information on the names of the workers, partners, and officers
  • All the members’ signatures in the form
  • Passport-size photos of each worker. Also, be certain to label each picture with their names
  • A photo of the dealership location. Include the sign, if the company has one
  • Surety bond
  • Dealer Plate Application if applicable

Please note that you might have to wait up to ten days for your submission to be processed. Also, keep in mind that an incomplete set of documents will not be considered. Hence, please double-check all the documents before submitting them to the board.

Alaska Auction License Renewal

As you get the permit, you will have to renew it before January 1 every two years.


Whether you are applying for the first time or renewing it the fee is the same. You have to pay $50. You can make your payment via check, money order, or credit card.

Business License

In addition to the general requirements listed above, the state also requires that you have a business allowance. The letter will ensure that you legally operate as an auctioneer. Besides, you shall file a request and pay a fee to the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development. So, an application for a permit has to include:

  • Name of the company
  • Name(s) of the owners
  • Firm’s mailing address
  • The location where you keep the information about the company
  • Other information that might be asked for by the board

You can find out more about how to get a business permit in the state.

Surety Bond

A qualified firm should make a $100,000 surety bond. Also, make sure that the surety has the certification to run a business in Alaska. Moreover, it has to cover any damage costs as well as other reasonable expenses incurred. At the same time, keep in mind that all the documents must be originals. They can also be certified copies. Lastly, please, make sure that the notary signs and seals the document.

Alaska Auction License Transfer

You cannot transfer this permit. That means, that if you want to have the same permit in another state, you have to follow the procedures they offer.

Mailing Address

AK Division of Motor
Vehicles ATTN: Vehicle Services
3901 Old Seward Hwy, Ste 101
Anchorage, AK 99503

Arpine Gh

Arpine Gh

Arpine Gh., Author at License Lookup